Chinese New Year Cookies

7

My favorite time of year has arrived.  Not only do the holidays mean spending more time with family, but also an excuse to make lots and lots of goodies!

I don’t know about you, but I have a really hard time baking cookies/sweets/etc. that I don’t like.  It’s just hard to do.  Of course, if I know someone loves a specific kind of treat (like my husband), I will bake the treat even if I don’t enjoy it.  But thankfully we like a lot of the same desserts!  Regardless, I still try to sample them, and then get them out of the house before we eat too many.

My grandmother (Mimi) made Chinese New Year Cookies for as long as I can remember.  And I have been making them for about the last 6 years and I always receive several compliments on the cookies.   This year, a friend is hosting a cookie exchange party three days after my son’s first birthday party (I love these get-togethers!).  Needless to say I didn’t have much time to bake cookies, so these were the perfect solution!  They’re no-bake, and the finished product has a complex appearance that shouts these must be complicated to make!

All you need is four ingredients: Chinese noodles, peanuts, chocolate chips and butterscotch chips.

First, using a double boiler or a heavy sauce pan like the one I use (shown below — thanks, Mimi), melt the chocolate chips and butterscotch chips over low heat.  Continually stir the mixture until the chips are melted.  Be cautious since it can burn quickly (which leads to starting over).  I will heat the chips on the lowest setting on my stove, and then turn it off a few times to prevent burning.

2

Once the chocolate and butterscotch chips are melted, remove them from the heat and add the peanuts and Chinese noodles. Stir slowing with a spoon until the noodles and peanuts are coated.

3

Using two small spoons, scoop tablespoon size amounts of the mixture onto a cookie sheet covered in wax paper.  Top cookies with Christmas M&Ms for a festive look.

5

Chill the cookies in the refrigerator for about an hour or until hardened.

2014-12-07 10.53.26

Once cooled, I like to store the cookies in plastic containers in the refrigerator or basement (if you want them out of sight), until they are ready to be given away as gifts or a cookie exchange.  And if your family enjoys them as much as mine, make sure to label (or hide) the cookies that are to be given away or they will disappear before you know it!

6

Chinese New Year Cookies

Makes about 5 dozen cookies

INGREDIENTS

1 package (11 oz) chocolate chips (semi-sweet or milk chocolate)

1 package (11 oz) butterscotch chips

4 cups Chinese noodles

1 ½ cups peanuts, salted

Christmas M&Ms (optional)

DIRECTIONS

  1. Melt chocolate chips and butterscotch chips over low heat.
  2. Remove chips from heat and add peanuts and Chinese noodles. Stir to coat.
  3. Using two spoons drop tablespoon size cookies on to wax paper. Top cookies with Christmas M&Ms if desired.
  4. Chill in refrigerator for about one hour.

 

© 2014 Kristy Hegner      Disclaimer

2 Comments

  1. Those look super fun! I could easily ser them being a Christmas tradition!

    Liked by 1 person

    • They are fun, but the best part is they are super quick to make!

      Like

Leave a Reply

