Candy Coated Christmas Pretzels

IMG_4909 (2)

Happy birthday to me!  Yes, my birthday is exactly a week before Christmas.  Countless times I’ve been asked ‘so do you get cheated with your birthday being so close to Christmas?’  The answer is no.  My parents always made it a point to separate the celebrations so it never bothered me being a week before Christmas.

Anyway, on to the sweets!  Over the past month, I have had a blast baking with my two oldest kids.  They particularly LOVE making sugar cut-out cookies as you can tell by the picture (and of course baby E couldn’t be left out either).  Making no-bake sweets that the kids can help out with is particularly exciting.  Since, no matter what I’m going to hear ‘can I help???’ why not bake sweets which are easy for them to help?

PicMonkey Collage

These candy coated Christmas pretzels were no exception.  During nap time, my 4 year old had a great time helping eating the leftover sprinkles.

2014-12-15 15.06.19

I used Wilton candy melts since I had bought this fun Christmas color a while ago, but chocolate chips work great too.  Melt the candy melts (or chocolate) in the microwave until melted (about 1 minute 30 seconds on 50% heat).

1

I placed the melted candy in a plastic container and used a spoon to coat the pretzels.  Cover each pretzel with the melted candy while leaving a little room for your fingers to hold the pretzels.  An alternative way to coat the pretzels is to place the melted candy into a tall drinking glass and dip the pretzel rods into the glass.

2

Decorate the candy coated pretzels with any kind of sprinkles you’d like.  Just make sure to work rather quickly because the candy melts harden fast.  Place the candy coated pretzels on a baking sheet covered with Parchment paper until candy hardens.

3

Candy Coated Christmas Pretzels

INGREDIENTS

15 pretzel rods

Candy melts, 12 ounce bag

Christmas sprinkles

DIRECTIONS

  1. Melt candy melts (or chocolate) in microwave until candy is smooth.
  2. Spoon melted candy over each pretzel rod leaving a small part of the pretzel exposed.
  3. Decorate pretzels with sprinkles.
  4. Place candy coated pretzels on a baking sheet lined with parchment until candy is hardened.

© 2014 Kristy Hegner     Disclaimer

 

2 Comments

  1. I’m glad you don’t feel slighted about the birthday/Christmas deal! I was thinking about that with our #2 but realized it would likely only be an issue if we didn’t celebrate. I would never!!

    Like

    • It’s just that much more of an exciting to have your birthday and Christmas in the same month 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

