Simple Homemade Granola {with an extra nutritional kick}

This simple granola is a nutritious and delicious way to start your morning off on the right foot.  You’ll never go back to store-bought!

Almonds and Raisins Granola

Over the holidays we had a cookie exchange with a group of friends and one of the participants wanted to bring a non-cookie item to the exchange.  Well of course I gave her a hard time for not bringing cookies (kidding of course), but what she brought was a fantastic recipe for granola.  Sorry Rachel, I’m going to call you out.  It was my good friend Rachel from Rachel Cooks.  But I am so glad she decided to veto the cookies because the granola she brought was amazing!

Of course I asked for the recipe, and her reply was something like “It’s similar to a granola recipe on my blog, but I added a little of this and a little of that.”  Well after eating all of the granola myself, I have been craving it like crazy and thought with how expensive, and sometimes unhealthy granola can be, why the heck am I not making my own granola?!

Almonds and Raisins Granola

Well, I tried making this granola THREE times before I got it right.  Hopefully you agree!  You’d think basic granola would be easy to make, which it would be if you knew how your oven would react to cooking granola and didn’t burn it twice before learning to take it out of the oven sooner!  And this is besides the fact that I shouldn’t be cooking anything when I’m sleep deprived – it’s almost a lost cause.

When it comes to granola I couldn’t help but reminisce about my time in Spain when I ate granola EVERY.SINGLE.MORNING.  Actually in Spain I ate muesli, which is similar to granola but not the same thing.  Granola is cooked with some sort of oil or butter and sweetener, where as muesli is eaten raw with no added fat or sweetener.  Both can contain a variety of other ingredients such as grains, nuts, seeds, dried or fresh fruit and seasonings.

Spain is also where I started my obsession of cereal + yogurt.  Since that time, I have never eaten any kind of cereal or granola with milk.  Try it with yogurt sometime (vanilla is my favorite flavor), I promise it’s delicious!

Nutritional Tidbit

Not only are you getting a serving of healthy fats (mono- and poly-unsaturated fats) from the almonds and canola oil, but the ground flaxseed also provides an extra nutritional kick with omega-3 fatty acids and fiber!  The healthy fats help lower bad (LDL) cholesterol, lower your risk of heart disease and stroke and may lower your risk of cancer.  Purchasing ground flaxseed is best, since whole flaxseed likely passes through the intestinal tract undigested, so your body is unable to get all the nutritional benefits from them.

In addition to the healthy fat benefits, you’re also eating whole grains (oats).  Whole grains help lower cholesterol and reduce your risk of obesity, type 2 diabetes and heart disease.

simple homemade granola

Simple Homemade Granola {with an extra nutritional kick}

9 servings (3/4 cup)

INGREDIENTS

3 cups old fashioned oats

¼ cup brown sugar

1 cup chopped almonds

¼ cup flaxseed, ground (optional)

1 tablespoon cinnamon

¼ teaspoon salt

½ cup raisins

4 tablespoons canola oil

4 tablespoons honey

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 300 degrees Fahrenheit.  Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or spray it with non-stick cooking spray (a rimmed baking sheet works best).
  2. Combine oats, brown sugar, raisins, almonds, flaxseed and salt in large bowl. Stir until combined (you can add raisins after baking if you’d prefer).
  3. In a microwave-safe bowl add canola oil, honey and vanilla. Heat in microwave for about 45 seconds at 40 percent power.  Pour mixture over dry ingredients.  Stir until all dry ingredients are coated with the liquid ingredients.
  4. Cook for 15 minutes, stir, then cook for another 10-15 minutes or until oats are light-brown in color. Don’t overcook!
  5. This granola can be stored for up to a week in an air-tight container (if it lasts that long!).

NUTRITION INFORMATION (includes flaxseed)

Serving Size: about ¾ cup

254 Calories, 9 g Fat, 1 g Saturated Fat, 41 g Total Carbohydrates, 4 g Fiber, 4 g Protein

© 2015 Kristy Hegner     Disclaimer

This Simple Homemade Granola {with an extra nutritional kick} recipe was first published on Chocolate Slopes.

7 Comments

  1. Granola is one of my favorite things and I love that this has flax seed!

    Like

    • I agree Julie! Flax seed is such an easy addition and adds so much more nutritional value to it 🙂

      Like

  2. It seems like homemade granola is one of those easy/hard recipes, right? When you get it juuuust right, it’s SO right!

    Like

    • I completely agree Abby! I finally got it right and now make it weekly!

      Like

  3. So tasty. I really like the addition of the flax seed. Yum!

    Like

  4. rachelcooksblog

    I just made a batch of this this weekend, like I do practically every week. Your recipe sounds pretty close to what I throw into my bowl. 😛

    Sorry it took three tries! Looks great though!

    Like

    • Yea, after 3 tries, I think I went back more to the basics!

      Like

Leave a Reply

